⬅ back


Swatted is a series of short comics about a fly who dies in every story. The stories are composed by following eight rules, and a different story emerges each time. The project takes the form of risograph-printed origami books. Further notes on this project…


  1. Six panel stories.
  2. The fly dies in every story.
  3. A die roll determines the panel in which the fly dies.
  4. The fly is relentlessly optimistic the circumstances.
  5. The fly is unaware of his low status and undesirability in human situations.
  6. Often, a second story is happening in the background.
  7. The primary voice is the fly, who performs a monologue for the audience.
  8. After the fly’s death, there is silence, though events may still be occurring.